Team | José María Roldán Alegre

José María Roldán Alegre

Senior Advisor


Born: Teruel (Spain), February 15th, 1964

Married, three sons.



  • Degree in Economics and Business Administration from the Universidad Complutense of Madrid. (1987).
  • Post graduate studies at the Centre for Monetary and Financial Studies, CEMFI (1987 – 1989).

Current responsibilities

  • INED (Independent Non-Executive Director), Santander UK, since June 2023.
  • INED, EBN Banco, since September 2023.


Professional career

  • Senior Economist, Research Department of the Bank of Spain. (1989-1994).
  • Economist at the European Monetary Institute (EMI), Frankfurt am Main. (1994-1996).
  • Under-Secretary of State (Subsecretario) and Chief of Staff (Director del Gabinete) of the Vice-president and Minister of Economy and Finance. (1996-1997), Spain.
  • Commissioner (Consejero, Executive Member of the Board) at the Spanish Securities and Exchange Commission, CNMV (1998-2000).
  • Director-General, Banking Regulation and Financial Stability, Bank of Spain (October 2000-October 2013). During this period:
    • Member of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, BCBS (2000-2013)
    • President of the Financial Action Task Force against Money Laundering, FATF/GAFI, (2000-2001).
    • Member of the Banking Supervision Committee (BSC) of the European Central Bank (2000-2006).
    • President of the “Joint Forum” the Intersectoral Committee on Banking Supervision (Basel), the International Organisation of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) and the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS) during the tenure of the BCBS (2002-2003).
    • Vice President and President of the extinct Banking Advisory Committee (BAC) of the EU (2002-2003).
    • Accounting Board Member of the Institute of Accounting and Auditing (ICAC) (2004-2013).
    • Chairman of the Committee of European Banking Supervisors (CEBS), the forerunner of the EBA (2004-2005).
    • President of the XBRL Spain (2004-2007).
    • Member of the XBRL International Advisory Board (2005-2008).
    • Board Member of the Committee European Banking Supervisors (CEBS). (2006-2011).
    • Chairman of the Accord Implementation Group (AIG) of the BCBS (2007-2008).
    • Chairman of the Standards Implementation Group (SIG) of the BCBS (2009-2011).
    • Member of the Management Committees of the three separate Deposit Guarantee Funds in credit institutions. (2000-2011).
    • Member of the Management Committee of the Deposit Guarantee Fund of Credit Institutions (2011-2013).
    • Member of the Governing Committee of the Spanish Executive Resolution Authority, FROB (2009-2013).
    • Member of the Management Committees of the three separate Deposit Guarantee Funds in credit institutions. (2000-2011).
    • Chairman and CEO (Presidente) of the Spanish Banking Association, AEB (April 2014 to April 2022). During this tenure:
    • Board Member of the European Banking Federation, EBF (April 2014-April 2022).
    • Vice-president of the European Banking Federation, EBF (May 2015-June 2019).
    • Member of the Executive Board of the Spanish Entrepreneurial Association, CEOE (April 2014 to April 2022).
    • Founder and first Chairman of Finresp, the sustainable finance platform constituted by the financial entrepreneurial associations of banking (AEB, Ceca and Unacc), insurance, Unespa, and securities firms, Inverco (November 2019 to March 2022).